SVEC Awards $1,000 Scholarships To 10 High School Seniors

Consistent with one of its guiding cooperative principles — concern for community — SVEC supports the schools, teachers and students in the Suwannee Valley.

In 2015, the board of trustees established SVEC’s scholarship program to help fund the continuing education of graduating high school seniors who are also dependents of cooperative members.

This year, SVEC trustees presented $1,000 scholarships to 10 applicants from across our service area. Scholarship applications were reviewed by a committee of SVEC employees who selected recipients based on their high school GPA, letters of recommendation, history of community involvement and an essay on why they want to continue their education and how the scholarship will help them do so.

“SVEC understands the value of our young people,” says SVEC Board of Trustees President Tim Steichen. “While these scholarships give special recognition to a few of our area’s top students, we congratulate all graduating seniors and extend to them our wishes for a successful and fulfilling future.”

Suwannee High School recipient Blake Tedder with SVEC Board President Tim Steichen.
SVEC Trustee Jerry Goff, left, with Branford High School scholarship recipients Seth Reaves and Brittany Frye.
SVEC Board President Tim Steichen with Columbia High School scholarship recipient Zachary Flugrath.

Suwannee High School recipient Kaleb Lane with SVEC Board President Tim Steichen.
Hamilton County High School recipients Austin Griffin, left, and Amanda Lacefield with SVEC Trustee Hugh Hunter.
SVEC Trustee Bill Hart, left, with Lafayette High School scholarship recipients Leesa Price and Krista Lyons and Trustee Tyler Putnal.

Suwannee High School recipient Hunter Rode with SVEC Board President Tim Steichen.