SVEC Awards $15,000 in Scholarships to Local Students

The SVEC Board of Trustees has awarded $15,000 in scholarships to some of the area’s outstanding high school graduates.

Ten scholarships for all-around excellence were awarded to dependents of co-op members based on the student’s grade point average and quality of extracurricular, church, community, civic and volunteer activities; letters of recommendation and an essay on how they plan to continue their education. Each scholarship winner will receive $1,500 to help pay for tuition at an accredited post-secondary or vocational education institution.

Scholarship recipients are:

Branford High School

Cash Blalock

Jacelle Taylor

Columbia High School

Kenzie Dungan

Anna Swisher

 Hamilton County High School

Morgan Griffin

Malyiah Marcano

Lafayette High School

Elisabeth Cook

Taryn Maund

Suwannee High School

Natalie Dunn

Braxtyn Green

"We are pleased to support these young men and women as they continue to prepare for their careers,” says SVEC Board of Trustees President Tyler Putnal. “We congratulate them on their high school achievements and wish them continued success in the future.”

SVEC has awarded $98,000 to local high school graduates since the co-op’s board of trustees established its scholarship program in 2015.