SVEC Awards $21,500 in Scholarships to Local Students

Board of Trustees has awarded $21,500 in scholarships to some of the area’s outstanding high school graduates.

Eleven scholarships for all-around excellence were awarded to dependents of co-op members based on the student’s grade point average and quality of extracurricular, church, community, civic and volunteer activities, two letters of recommendation and an essay on why they want to continue their education. Each winner of a scholarship for all-around excellence will receive $1,500 to help pay for tuition at an accredited post-secondary or vocational education institution. Additionally, $1,000 scholarships were awarded to five students who qualified to attend a co-op hosted tour of Tallahassee which was cancelled due to health concerns associated with COVID-19.

Scholarship recipients are:

Branford High School

  • Dominique Golding (Excellence)
  • Nathalia Veal (Excellence)

Hamilton County High School

  • Jordan Beck (In lieu of tour)
  • Triston Carter (In lieu of tour)
  • Triston Carter (Excellence)
  • Jenna Tolle (Excellence)

Holy Cross Christian Academy

  • Dominic Rosado (Excellence)

Lafayette High School

  • Daniela Camarillo (In lieu of tour)
  • José Resendíz (Excellence)
  • McKenzie Winburn (Excellence)

Freedom High School

  • Brentson McCall (Excellence)

Suwannee High School

  • David Esco (In lieu of tour)
  • Ali McMillan (Excellence)
  • Ali McMillan (In lieu of tour)
  • Caroline Simpson (Excellence)

SVEC also presented a scholarship for excellence to Jase Daniel who graduated from the Donald Ralph Cooke School at the Florida Sheriffs Boys Ranch.

"We are pleased to be able to support these young men and women as they launch into the next phase of their lives,” says SVEC Board of Trustees President Tyler Putnal. “We congratulate them on their high school achievements and wish them continued success in the future.”

SVEC has awarded $83,000 to local graduating high school seniors since the co-op established its scholarship program in 2015.